What’s in my hospital bag!

WARNING! This is a pretty rambly post, but if like me you enjoy hauls and like to get ideas for what to pack for your own bag, or just generally like being a little bit nosey then read on.

Please note that this is just a list of my preferences and what I feel that I would need whilst in hospital. Some items may not even get used and there may be items that I’ve forgotten and will think “damn I should have packed that”.

I’ve opted to use a suitcase rather than a bag, purely as it’s easy to transport and everything is much more open and easily accessible.


The essentials:


  • Maternity pads
  • Breast pads
  • Face wipes
  • Hand wipes
  • Deodorant
  • Moisturizer
  • Chapstick
  • Toothbrush/toothpaste
  • Phone and charger

The clothing:


  • Nursing bras – I plan on breastfeeding again but if I wasn’t normal bras would do. 
  •  big pants – handy in case I end up having a c-section again plus they are so comfy. 
  • Plain top – I’ll be wearing this in the birth pool.
  • Black towel – labour can be MESSY so I wouldn’t want to use a light towel, plus hospital ones are rather small in my opinion.
  • Favourite/comfy pjs – nothing can beat a comfy pair of pyjamas especially if you’re not sleeping in your own bed – home comforts are key.
  • Socks – I’ve heard your feet can get cold during labour, I plan on using the pool so they may not be needed, but it’s good to have them there anyway.
  • Slippers – I love having my slippers when I want to get all cosy, especially if I’m sat around waiting.
  • Flip flops – Even though hospitals are meant to be super clean, I would hate to be walking around their floors with nothing on my feet, plus having flip flops will mean I’m less likely to slip getting in and out of the pool.
  • Going home outfit – this will consist of my VERY stretchy maternity jeans and an oversized top. Clothes that are comfy and pretty much what you wore during pregnancy as lets face it…unless you’re Victoria Beckham you can bet your ass you’ll be pretty much the same size leaving as what you were when you went in.

The “nice to haves”


  • iPod – I hate hospitals so it will be nice being able to block out the hospital sounds and focus on the music rather than what’s going on around me.
  • Hairbrush/hairbands/hair grips – I think these are somewhat an essential, but depending on how I’m feeling I may not even bother with these – I can’t remember brushing my hair at all in the first couple of days after having Charlie.
  • Nipple cream – I wish I had this packed BEFORE I had charlie as I suffered horridly with cracked and bleeding nipples, but this time I’m prepared.
  • Shower gel – This is something I may or may not use as I may not be in the hospital for very long, but it’s nice to know I can feel clean and fresh if I do end up staying in.
  • Arnica tablets – I’ve heard these are supposed to be really good for post-natal bruising and swelling downstairs.
  • Raspberry leaf tablets – I’ve been taking these since I was 34 weeks and did the same with Charlie. It can help your uterus contract back to size quicker after birth, and I had very minimal post-natal bleeding with Charlie. P.s speak to your midwife before using as it can make uterine contractions MUCH stronger.
  • Dry shampoo – This may not be something I use in hospital as I’m unsure of the hospitals aerosol policy, but there’s so many up-dos that you will disguise greasy roots and keep the hair off your face during childbirth.
  • Make-up – I always feel much more myself and happier with a little bit of blusher and mascara…being very fair and pale I often get asked if I’m anemic if I don’t wear these.
  • HydrateM8 water bottle – I LOVE this water bottle, it’s so easy to drink from as you don’t have to tilt it, you can keep track of how much water you have or haven’t had, the motivational quote on the front is GENIUS and you can get it in so many different colours.

You can purchase your own hydrateM8 water bottle here.

 
Apologies for the very rambly post but if you found it of use or interesting give it a like!

What did you find an absolute essential in your hospital bag?

I shall keep you posted on what I did and didn’t use from my bag.

Danielle x

4 thoughts on “What’s in my hospital bag!

  1. Packing any food or snacks? I didn’t want to overload my stomach so when I started having serious contractions, I didn’t eat much. I packed Special K protein shakes (as recommended by another mommy blogger) to get me through labor and delivery and some light snacks (jerky and granola bars) for afterward. Next time, I’m eating real food and bringing a picnic basket! I was so exhausted and weak that I didn’t have a picture of me holding my baby until the day after he was born.

    Like

    1. We’ve decided to stop off at our local supermarket on the way to the hospital as we know that if we kept the snacks in the house we’d either eat them beforehand or forget to bring them πŸ™ˆ I’m hoping I can stomach some sort of proper meal/light meal to keep me going this time xx

      Like

      1. Sounds like a great plan! I bought sugarless candies to have during labor (based off another recommendation) and they “disappeared” before I went to the hospital. Of course a few weeks after the baby was born, I found them. Or what was left of them really ☺️

        Like

Leave a Reply

