Bump cast with Sticky Prints!

Sticky Prints is a company based in Norfolk that makes keepsakes and jewellery that’s personal, using handprints, footprints, fingerprints, drawing and even paw prints.

Sticky Prints was founded and created by Sarah who like myself, lives in Norfolk, and works alongside her mum Sandi as her assistant.

Sarah’s inspiration for Sticky Prints cane from wanting a keepsake of her first born Rose as a reminder of how small she was at the time; something all parents want to treasure forever.

Things Sticky Prints makes:

  • Silver fingerprint jewellery 
  • Ceramic impressions
  • Stone outprints 
  • 3D castings
  • Pottery prints 

What I done with Sticky Prints :

Sticky Prints were running a competition on Facebook to find someone to model a bump cast (just belly) and a full body cast (boobs and bump)…the winner was pulled out of a hat completely at random and the winner just so happened to be me.

In the October half term I made the 107mile drive down to Maidstone, Kent to meet Sarah and a lovely and extremely talented woman named CJ Munn who owns Rockabelly Lifecasts. CJ was going to be teaching Sarah the different techniques of casting body parts, pregnant bellies in particular, to help expand her business, hence needing a volunteer.

Overall experience:

I tend to be a bit of a prude about my body and exposing my boobs and bump to people who I’d never met before is something I never thought I’d be doing, but Sarah and CJ could not have been more brilliant at making me feel comfortable and relaxed about it all. Being able to help a local business woman expand her business and keep a beautiful keepsake of my pregnancy and what the human body can really stretch to is pretty incredible. At present I don’t have a finished body cast as the drying, finishing and decorating process can take up to 3 months, and the work that goes into it to make it perfect makes it well worth the wait. I did however come away with a bonus practice cast which I will be using as a “baby bowl” to take some beautiful pictures of my little girl inside of it when she eventually arrives.

As I don’t have a photo of my own full body cast, I will leave the link to CJ Munn’s page “Rockabelly Lifecasts” so you can see her incredible work for yourselves. Pictures really don’t do this woman’s work justice and seeing it up close and in the flesh so to speak left me rather speechless. You can see that so much hard work, love, care and attention to detail has gone into every single piece that she has done.

If you ever get the chance or opportunity to have this done then I really do urge you to go for it!

I can’t wait to show you all the finished piece and of course my baby girls newborn photos inside the “bump bowl”.

Danielle x 

Leave a Reply

